Special Economic Zone


The idea of Special Economic Zone (中国经济特区) was originated from Deng Xiaoping’s proposition of setting up Special Export Zone (出口特区) in 1979. In that year, the China authorities agreed to establish 4 pilot special export zones in Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Shantou and Xiamen, which were later renamed as special economic zones in 1980. Subsequently in April 1988, Hainan Special Economic Zone was established. Another 2 special economic zones in Khorgas and Kashgar were approved during a governmental meeting in 2010. These 7 special economic zones were established for the purpose of creating a better environment for investment, encouraging foreign investment, introducing advanced technology and scientific management methods, and eventually promoting the economic and technological development of the country.

Other Development Zone Types