New Area


New Areas (新区), or State-Level New Areas (国家级新区) are comprehensive functional areas approved by the State Council to undertake major national development and reform & open up strategic tasks. After China's reform and open up in 1992, the State-Level New Areas project has brought a new round of development. The first new area was established in the Pudong district, Shanghai in 1992. For a long time, there has been no new areas established in China until 2006 when Tianjin Binhai New Area was upgraded to a national-level new area, and then more new areas were established one after another. As of December 2018, there were a total of 19 state-level new areas in China, of which 8 are in the east, 2 are in the middle, 6 are in the west, and 3 are in the northeast.

Other Development Zone Types