Shenyang (沈阳)


Shenyang is a tier 1 city located within Liaoning Province in Northeast China. It is also Liaoning's Provincial Capital.

In China's administrative hierarchy, Shenyang is classified as a "Sub-provincial City", meaning it enjoys a greater degree of autonomy than other prefecture-level cities governed under Liaoning province control.

Map of Shenyang

Shenyang in Chinese

The official name of Shenyang in simplified Chinese characters and pinyin is:


In Chinese it is common to add the character for "City" (市) to the name. In such case Shenyang would be written:

Shěnyáng shì

Shenyang Development Zones

Free Trade Zones in Shenyang

Since the establishment of the Liaoning Free Trade Zone in 2017, the following sections within Shenyang have been designated as free trade zones:

  • Shenyang Area

High Tech Zones in Shenyang

The following high tech zones are located in Shenyang:

  • Shenyang High-Tech Industry Development Zone (沈阳高新技术产业开发区)
       - website:
       - focus industries: Information technology; Intelligent manufacturing; Biological medicine

Shenyang Transportation

Airports in Shenyang

Shenyang is served by the following airports:

  • Shenyang Taoxian International Airport (IATA: SHE | ICAO: ZYTX)

Shenyang Metro

The city of Shenyang's metro system commenced operation on 27 September 2010.

Shenyang Companies

High-profile Shenyang Companies

The following Chinese companies are headquartered in Shenyang:

  • 辽宁禾丰牧业股份有限公司 | Liaoning Hefeng Animal Husbandry Co., Ltd.
  • 辽宁申华控股股份有限公司 | Liaoning Shenhua Holdings Co., Ltd.
  • 华晨汽车集团控股有限公司 | Brilliance Automotive Group Holdings Limited
  • 盛京银行股份有限公司 | Shengjing Bank Co., Ltd.
  • 辽宁方大集团实业有限公司 | Liaoning Fangda Group Industrial Co., Ltd.

N.B. English names provided are based on automated translations and may not be consistent with those used by the companies

Verify a Company from Shenyang

Are you working with a company from Shenyang? Perform your due diligence with a China Checkup company verification report. Turnaround from 1 working day. Order online.

Learn more ❯

Business Trip to Shenyang

While in Shenyang

Make the most of your visit to Shenyang - take a local tour:

More Information about Shenyang