Guangzhou (广州)


Guangzhou is a tier 1 city located within Guangdong Province in South China. It is also Guangdong's Provincial Capital.

In China's administrative hierarchy, Guangzhou is classified as a sub-provincial city, meaning it is governed under Guangdong province control, but enjoys a greater degree of autonomy than most prefecture-level cities.

The official name of Guangzhou in simplified Chinese characters is 广州 (or in pinyin: Guǎngzhōu).

Map of Guangzhou, Guangdong

Free Trade Zones in Guangzhou

Since the establishment of the Guangdong Free Trade Zone in 2015, the following sections within Guangzhou have been designated as free trade zones:

  • Nansha Area of Guangzhou

High Tech Zones in Guangzhou

The following high tech zones are located in Guangzhou:

  • Guangzhou High-Tech Industry Development Zone (广州高新技术产业开发区)
       - focus industries: Electronic information; Biological medicine; New materials

Airports in Guangzhou

Guangzhou is served by the following airports:

  • Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport (IATA: CAN | ICAO: ZGGG)

Guangzhou Metro

The city of Guangzhou's metro system commenced operation on 28 June 1997.

High-profile Guangzhou Companies

The following Chinese companies are headquartered in Guangzhou:

  • (广州市方圆房地产发展有限公司)
  • (名创优品(广州)有限责任公司)
  • (广州美涂士投资控股有限公司)
  • Guangzhou Times Holdings Group Co., Ltd. (广州市时代控股集团有限公司)
       - website:
  • Guangdong Jingdong Trading Co., Ltd. (广州晶东贸易有限公司)
  • Guangzhou R&F Properties Co., Ltd. (广州富力地产股份有限公司)
       - website:
  • Guangdong HAID Group Co., Ltd. (广东海大集团股份有限公司)
  • Guangdong Dinglong Industrial Group Co., Ltd. (广东鼎龙实业集团有限公司)
       - website:
  • Agile Real Estate Co., Ltd. (雅居乐地产置业有限公司)
       - website:

Verify a Guangzhou Company

Are you working with a company from Guangzhou? Perform your due diligence with a China Checkup company verification report. Turnaround from 1 working day. Order online.

Learn more ❯

More Cities in Guangdong

Chaozhou (潮州)

Dongguan (东莞)

Foshan (佛山)