Chinese City Type

Sub-provincial City


These are 15 large and important Chinese cities which have enjoyed special autonomy since a government decision in 1994. Although they are still governed by their province, these cities' economic plans are separately listed for national planning and have other administrative independence. Ten of the fifteen sub-provincial-level cities are provincial capitals, whilst the remainder (Dalian, Ningbo, Qingdao, Shenzhen and Xiamen) are each home to major shipping ports.

In total, there are 15 sub-provincial cities in China.

Other City Types