Chinese City Type



China has designated 4 major cities as municipalities, a status which gives them equal standing to a province. The most recently created municipality was Chongqing, which was carved out of Sichuan province in 1997 to become Mainland China's fourth municipality after Shanghai (1927), Beijing (1949) and Tianjin (1967).

In total, there are 4 municipalities in China.

Other City Types