Chengdu (成都)


Chengdu is a 'new tier 1' city located within Sichuan Province in Southwest China. It is also Sichuan's Provincial Capital.

In China's administrative hierarchy, Chengdu is classified as a sub-provincial city, meaning it is governed under Sichuan province control, but enjoys a greater degree of autonomy than most prefecture-level cities.

The official name of Chengdu in simplified Chinese characters is 成都 (or in pinyin: Chéngdū).

Map of Chengdu, Sichuan

Free Trade Zones in Chengdu

Parts of Chengdu have been designated as free trade zones since the establishment of the Sichuan Free Trade Zone in 2017.
The following sections of the Sichuan Free Trade Zone are located in Chengdu: Chengdu Qingbaijiang Railway Port Area, Chengdu Tianfu New Area and South Sichuan Port Area.

Chengdu Metro

The city of Chengdu's metro system opened on 27 September 2010.