Wuhan (武汉)


Wuhan is a tier 1 city located within Hubei Province in Central China. It is also Hubei's Provincial Capital.

In China's administrative hierarchy, Wuhan is classified as a "Sub-provincial City", meaning it enjoys a greater degree of autonomy than other prefecture-level cities governed under Hubei province control.

Map of Wuhan

Wuhan in Chinese

The official name of Wuhan in simplified Chinese characters and pinyin is:


In Chinese it is common to add the character for "City" (市) to the name. In such case Wuhan would be written:

Wǔhàn shì

Wuhan Development Zones

Free Trade Zones in Wuhan

Since the establishment of the Hubei Free Trade Zone in 2017, the following sections within Wuhan have been designated as free trade zones:

  • Wuhan Area

High Tech Zones in Wuhan

The following high tech zones are located in Wuhan:

  • Wuhan Donghu High-Tech Development Zone (武汉东湖新技术开发区)
       - website: wehdz.gov.cn
       - focus industries: Optoelectronic information; Biology; Equipment manufacturing

Wuhan Transportation

Airports in Wuhan

Wuhan is served by the following airports:

  • Wuhan Tianhe International Airport (IATA: WUH | ICAO: ZHHH)

Wuhan Metro

The city of Wuhan's metro system commenced operation on 28 July 2004.

Wuhan Companies

High-profile Wuhan Companies

The following Chinese companies are headquartered in Wuhan:

  • 九州通医药集团股份有限公司 | Jointown Pharmaceutical Group Co., Ltd.
  • 卓尔控股有限公司 | Zall Holdings Limited
  • 恒信汽车集团股份有限公司 | Hengxin Automobile Group Co., Ltd.
  • 山河控股集团有限公司 | Shanhe Holdings Group Co., Ltd.
  • 武汉当代科技产业集团股份有限公司 | Wuhan Modern Technology Industry Group Co., Ltd.
  • 武汉市金马凯旋家具投资有限公司 | Wuhan Jinma Kaixuan Furniture Investment Co., Ltd.
  • 武汉联杰能源有限公司 | Wuhan Lianjie Energy Co., Ltd.
  • 合众人寿保险股份有限公司 | United Life Insurance Co., Ltd.
  • 奥山集团 | Orsun Group
  • 宝业湖北建工集团有限公司 | Baoye Hubei Construction Engineering Group Co., Ltd.
  • 新八建设集团有限公司 | New Eight Construction Group Co., Ltd.
  • 新七建设集团有限公司 | New Seven Construction Group Co., Ltd.
  • 新十建设集团有限公司 | New Ten Construction Group Co., Ltd.
  • 三环集团有限公司 | Sanhuan Group Co., Ltd.
  • 东风汽车集团有限公司 | Dongfeng Motor Group Co., Ltd.
  • 东风汽车集团股份有限公司 | Dongfeng Motor Group Co., Ltd.
  • 中国信息通信科技集团有限公司 | China Information and Communication Technology Group Co., Ltd.
  • 人福医药集团股份公司 | Renfu Pharmaceutical Group Co., Ltd.
  • 卓尔智联集团有限公司 | Zall Smart Commerce Group Ltd.
  • 武汉农村商业银行股份有限公司 | Wuhan Rural Commercial Bank Co., Ltd.
  • 湖北省交通投资集团有限公司 | Hubei Transportation Investment Group Co., Ltd.
  • 烽火通信科技股份有限公司 | Fiberhome Communication Technology Co., Ltd.
  • 武汉商联(集团)股份有限公司 | Wuhan Commercial Union (Group) Co., Ltd.
  • 武汉地产开发投资集团有限公司 | Wuhan Real Estate Development Investment Group Co., Ltd.
  • 武汉金融控股(集团)有限公司 | Wuhan Financial Holdings (Group) Co., Ltd.

N.B. English names provided are based on automated translations and may not be consistent with those used by the companies

Verify a Company from Wuhan

Are you working with a company from Wuhan? Perform your due diligence with a China Checkup company verification report. Turnaround from 1 working day. Order online.

Learn more ❯

Business Trip to Wuhan

While in Wuhan

Make the most of your visit to Wuhan - take a local tour:

More Information about Wuhan