Nanjing (南京)


Nanjing is a 'new tier 1' city located within Jiangsu Province in East China. It is also Jiangsu's Provincial Capital.

In China's administrative hierarchy, Nanjing is classified as a sub-provincial city, meaning it is governed under Jiangsu province control, but enjoys a greater degree of autonomy than most prefecture-level cities.

The official name of Nanjing in Simplified Chinese characters is 南京, (pinyin: Nánjīng).

Nanjing Metro

The city of Nanjing's metro system opened on 3 September 2005.