Tianjin (天津)


Tianjin is a 'new tier 1' city located within Tianjin Municipality in North China.

In China's administrative hierarchy, Tianjin is classified as a municipality, meaning it has powers equivalent to a province.

The official name of Tianjin in Simplified Chinese characters is 天津, (pinyin: Tiānjīn).

Free Trade Zones in Tianjin

Parts of Tianjin have been designated as free trade zones since the establishment of the Tianjin Free Trade Zone in 2015.
The following sections of the Tianjin Free Trade Zone are located in Tianjin: Tianjin Airport Area, Binhai CBD Area and Tianjin Port Dongjiang Area.

Tianjin Metro

The city of Tianjin's metro system opened on 28 December 1984.