Shanghai (上海)


Shanghai is a tier 1 city located within Shanghai Municipality in East China.

In China's administrative hierarchy, Shanghai is classified as a municipality, meaning it has powers equivalent to a province.

The official name of Shanghai in Simplified Chinese characters is 上海, (pinyin: Shànghǎi).

Free Trade Zones in Shanghai

Parts of Shanghai have been designated as free trade zones since the establishment of the Shanghai Free Trade Zone in 2013.
The following sections of the Shanghai Free Trade Zone are located in Shanghai: Bonded Area, Jinqiao Development Zone, Lujiazui Financial Zone and Zhangjiang High Tech Park.

Shanghai Stock Exchange

Opened in 1990, the Shanghai Stock Exchange (上海证券交易所) trades under the symbol SSE. Their official website is

Shanghai Metro

The city of Shanghai's metro system opened on 28 May 1993.